Home Featured Browning takes pole in thrilling finish to F3’s Silverstone qualifying

Browning takes pole in thrilling finish to F3’s Silverstone qualifying

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

FIA Formula 3 Championship leader Luke Browning claimed pole in a thrilling finish to qualifying at Silverstone.

The session started dry, but it did not take long for rain to appear and it meant the early 1m45.475s benchmark set by Van Amersfoort Racing’s Noel Leon went unbeaten for a long time.

MP Motorsport’s Alex Dunne was 0.07 seconds behind in second place for a long time, with Prema’s Gabriele Mini in third.

It was only with three minutes to go that the track started to dry out to a degree where it seems worthwhile going for further flying laps and it led to a very busy track and a flurry of improvements after the chequered flag waved.

Rodin Motorsport’s Callum Voisin and Prema’s Arvid Lindblad were one of the first two to cross the line and went one-two, with Voisin setting a 1m45.397s to go fastest by 0.029s.

Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli bettered him by 0.134s, then as the track continued to dry it was those who headed out later who had the advantage – but also faced more traffic.

That scuppered the chances of Prema’s Dino Beganovic, who had actually been set to improve with 30s to go but then backed out of his lap due to encountering cars ahead and then because of how close he remained to them he could not go faster on his final effort.

Browning, who had skipped the wet practice session, clinched pole with a 1m44.992s lap, taking top spot by just 0.045s. When informed he was fastest the Williams junior seemed surprised, and wildly celebrated over the radio.

Jenzer Motorsport’s Max Esterson was second fastest, Trident’s Sami Meguetounif was 0.092s off pole in third and his team-mate Fornaroli qualified fourth.

Voisin was shuffled down to ninth, while Lindblad and Leon ended up in 11th and 12th. That means Leon has reversed-grid pole for Saturday’s sprint race.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m44.992s 11
2 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.037s +0.045s 11
3 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m45.0.84s +0.092s 11
4 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m45.265s +0.273s 9
5 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m45.286s +0.294s 12
6 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.312s +0.320s 12
7 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m45.374s +0.382s 10
8 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m45.394s +0.402s 12
9 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport 1m45.397s +0.405s 10
10 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.405s +0.413s 11
11 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m45.426s +0.434s 11
12 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.475s +0.483s 8
13 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport 1m45.545s +0.553s 7
14 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m45.562s +0.570s 10
15 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m45.628s +0.636s 7
16 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport 1m45.779s +0.787s 10
17 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m45.784s +0.792s 7
18 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m45.809s +0.817s 11
19 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m45.818s +0.826s 11
20 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport 1m46.032s +1.040s 10
21 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m46.184s +1.192s 8
22 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m46.429s +1.437s 10
23 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m46.477s +1.485s 11
24 Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing 1m46.495s +1.503s 9
25 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m46.584s +1.592s 12
26 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m46.619s +1.627s 11
27 James Wharton Hitech GP 1m46.773s +1.781s 12
28 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing 1m46.864s +1.872s 10
29 Joshua Dufek AIX Racing 1m46.973s +1.981s 9
30 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport 1m47.870s +2.819s 10