Home Featured Browning takes F3 pole in Austria, points leader Fornaroli qualifies 24th

Browning takes F3 pole in Austria, points leader Fornaroli qualifies 24th

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Hitech GP’s Luke Browning stormed to his maiden FIA Formula 3 Championship pole in qualifying at the Red Bull Ring.

The Williams junior, who had previously claimed an F3 pole in the 2023 Macau Grand Prix, was fastest by 0.084 seconds ahead of Red Bull juniors Arvid Lindblad and Tim Tramnitz, the latter recording his best qualifying result in the category.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Noel Leon led the way early on with a 1m21.292s and, after brief spells at the top for Nikola Tsolov, Oliver Goethe and Gabriel Mini, the Mexican reclaimed the advantage with a 1m20.874s.

Mini responded on his next lap to go quickest by 0.005s, but it wasn’t long until Leon went fastest once more with a 1m20.804s. Trident’s Sami Meguetounif improved to third ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Tsolov, with most of the field heading to the pitlane approaching the halfway stage for fresh tyres.

Spots of rain fell as drivers commenced their second runs in the final few minutes. Browning led the pack, and he made use of a clear track in front of him to lower the pace by over 0.5s to 1m20.222s, while ART GP duo Laurens van Hoepen and Christian Mansell improved to second and third.

Mini reduced Browning’s advantage to 0.195s, but Tramnitz then edged the Prema driver into second by 0.006s. Browning was unable to improve on his next lap but still secured feature race pole, while Lindblad snatched second late on.

Mini slipped back to fourth, while his team-mate Dino Beganovic and Campos Racing’s Oliver Goethe made late improvements to qualify fifth and sixth ahead of van Hoepen and Sebastian Montoya.

Hitech’s Martinius Stenshorne is due to start from pole in the partially-reversed grid sprint race after setting the 12th quickest time. Points leader Leonardo Fornaroli had a difficult session and was on course for eighth place before his fastest lap was deleted, which dropped him down the order and means he will start both races from 24th.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m20.222s 14
2 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m20.306s +0.084s 14
3 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m20.411s +0.189s 13
4 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m20.417s +0.195s 13
5 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m20.424s +0.202s 14
6 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m20.467s +0.245s 14
7 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m20.517s +0.295s 13
8 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m20.548s +0.326s 13
9 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport 1m20.563s +0.341s 13
10 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m20.567s +0.345s 14
11 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m20.609s +0.387s 14
12 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m20.665s +0.443s 14
13 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m20.680s +0.458s 15
14 Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing 1m20.865s +0.643s 13
15 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m20.986s +0.764s 12
16 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m20.989s +0.767s 11
17 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m20.998s +0.776s 14
18 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m21.034s +0.812s 13
19 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m21.056s +0.834s 15
20 Joshua Dufek AIX Racing 1m21.071s +0.849s 13
21 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m21.076s +0.854s 14
22 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m21.078s +0.856s 15
23 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m21.131s +0.909s 13
24 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m21.160s +0.938s 11
25 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport 1m21.299s +1.077s 13
26 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m21.403s +1.181s 17
27 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing 1m21.486s +1.264s 13
28 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport 1m21.675s +1.453s 14
29 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport 1m21.988s +1.766s 14
30 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport 1m22.058s +1.836s 13