Home Featured Bortoleto starts FIA F3’s in-season Barcelona test on top

Bortoleto starts FIA F3’s in-season Barcelona test on top

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

FIA Formula 3 championship leader Gabriel Bortoleto was the fastest driver on the opening morning of in-season testing at Barcelona.

Despite temperatures being fairly mild early on, and therefore optimal for testing with a limited supply of tyres, there were no laptimes set until 22 minutes into the three-hour session when Hitech GP’s Luke Browning set a 1m39.934s.

Prior to that there had been track action, with the entirety of the field heading out at least twice to do an outlap and then come straight back to the pits.

Browning improved to 1m38.564s and was still the only driver to have shown their pace after half an hour had passed.

More cars took to the track 10 minutes later, and MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto set a new 1m28.068s benchmark. Christian Mansell (Campos Racing), Taylor Barnard (Jenzer Motorsport), and Pepe Marti (Campos) also posted 1m28s laps, with 17 cars putting a time on the board.

Colapinto was shuffled from top spot as the session entered its second hour, with Prema’s Zak O’Sullivan setting a 1m28.038s to go fastest. Hitech’s Sebastian Montoya slotted into third place, with Mansell pushed out of the top 10 as the field finally began to show their pace.

Marti was the first driver into the 1m27s, and the pace gradually improved in the second hour. Bortoleto set a 1m27.221s to place himself on top of the timesheet, with ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy postinga 1m27.424s and Prema’s Dino Beganovic setting a 1m27.447s.

The track warmed up slightly following that, and most of the field spent the rest of the session in the pits. That meant there were no changes to the top half of the timesheet in the final hour, with Bortoleto leading a top 10 filled by Saucy, Beganovic, Barnard, O’Sullivan, ART GP’s Gabriele Mini, MP’s Mari Boya, Montoya, Prema’s Paul Aron and Marti.

Late on there were on-track problems for Marti and Mansell, with both unable to return to the pits.

Test session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident 1m27.221s 14
2 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m27.424s +0.203s 40
3 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m27.447s +0.226s 21
4 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport 1m27.560s +0.339s 42
5 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 1m27.597s +0.376s 22
6 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m27.644s +0.423s 45
7 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m27.732s +0.511s 25
8 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP 1m27.756s +0.535s 46
9 Paul Aron Prema 1m27.762s +0.541s 22
10 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m27.806s +0.585s 41
11 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m27.864s +0.643s 38
12 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m27.873s +0.652s 15
13 Oliver Goethe Trident 1m27.943s +0.722s 15
14 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m28.068s +0.847s 25
15 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m28.104s +0.883s 25
16 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix 1m28.293s +1.072s 23
17 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m28.373s +1.152s 47
18 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m28.511s +1.290s 43
19 Christian Mansell Campos Racing 1m28.523s +1.302s 41
20 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.559s +1.338s 27
21 Hunter Yeany Carlin 1m28.606s +1.385s 38
22 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport 1m28.705s +1.484s 44
23 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz 1m28.724s +1.503s 22
24 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.738s +1.517s 28
25 Oliver Gray Carlin 1m28.947s +1.726s 40
26 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport 1m28.993s +1.772s 40
27 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m29.107s +1.886s 39
28 Piotr Wisnicki PHM by Charouz 1m29.529s +2.308s 27
29 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.278s +3.057s 43
30 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz 1m31.447s +4.226s 16