Home Formula 3Euroformula Benvavides tops Euroformula pre-season testing at Barcelona

Benvavides tops Euroformula pre-season testing at Barcelona

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Brad Benavides was fastest in Euroformula’s three-day pre-season test at Barcelona this week, which was attended by just seven drivers.

The action began on Monday with two sessions, and Motopark’s Benavides topped the first by just 0.003 seconds with a 1m31.447s lap. Matias Zagazeta was second fastest, with Levente Revesz 0.259s behind in third and Cenyu Han 0.503s back in fourth.

Martinius Stenshorne completed a top five covered by 0.667s, and Fefo Barrichello was 1.027s off the pace. In seventh and last place was BVM Racing’s Francesco Simonazzi, who was the only non-Motopark driver taking part.

In session two Stenshorne improved to 1m32.008s to top the times by 0.198s over Benavides. Han and Zagazeta were 0.262s an 0.362s off respectively, and Revesz was 0.611s off the pace in fifth. Stenshorne was the only driver to beat their session one pace.

Zagazeta skipped Tuesday’s action, and in the morning session the pace was lowered to 1m30.574s by Benavides. He was fastest by 0.075s over Stenshorne, and 0.926s covered the six drivers who all set new personal bests.

The afternoon session was slower, with Stenshorne setting a 1m31.298s to top the times by 0.183s over Han. Revesz and Benavides were 0.307s and 0.532s off Stenshorne in third and fourth.

Day three of the test did not actually include any Euroformula sessions, meaning Benavides ended pre-season testing on top.

Of the seven drivers who took part, the ones yet to be confirmed as racing in the series this year are Zagazeta, Stenshorne and Simonazzi. Stenshorne and Zagazeta are already racing in the FIA Formula 3 Championship.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Brad Benavides Motopark 1m30.574s 124
2 Martinius Stenshorne Motopark 1m30.649s +0.075s 123
3 Cenyu Han Motopark 1m30.951s +0.377s 134
4 Levente Revesz Motopark 1m31.087s +0.513s 108
5 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 1m31.405s +0.831s 101
6 Matias Zagazeta Motopark 1m31.450s +0.876s 62
7 Fefo Barrichello Motopark 1m31.500s +0.926s 110