Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Antonio Fuoco victorious in second Vallelunga race

Antonio Fuoco victorious in second Vallelunga race

by Luis Miguel Martinez

Photo: Fast Lane Promotion

Prema Powerteam completed a perfect opening weekend to the Formula Renault Alps season with Italian Antonio Fuoco winning the second Vallelunga race after his team mate Bruno Bonifacio won the first one.

The race was mostly dominated by Brazilian Bonifacio, with Dutchman Nyck de Vries following closely behind in second. He tried to overtake Bonifacio but the move ended in contact between the two drivers and neither could continue the race. As a result of this incident Fuoco took the lead and comfortably won the race and took the lead of the championship.

In second place was the other Prema Powerteam car driven by Luca Ghioto, followed by Koiranen Motorsport?s Brazilian Guilherme Silva completing the podium.

Fourth place was for Pierre Gasly for Tech 1 Racing with his team mate Matthieu Vaxiviere taking a strong fifth place after not being able to complete the first race.

French driver William Vermont took sixth place for Arta Engineering, in front of BMV Racing?s Italian Dario Capitanio in seventh, who wasn?t able to complete the first race either.

In eighth was the Japanese Uyko Sasahara for Euronova Racing, who repeated his position from the previous race; behind in ninth place for GSK Grand Prix was Kevin Gilardoni, with Swiss Kevin Jorg for Jenzer Motorsport taking tenth place and the final point.

Thanks to his two podiums Fuoco now leads the championship comfortably from Ghioto. The championship top five after Vallelunga Weekend is: Antonio Fuoco 43pts; Luca Ghiotto 28pts; Pierre Gasly 27pts; Bruno Bonifacio 25pts; Guilherme Silva 23pts.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam 13 laps in 20:39.450
2 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam +1.117
3 Guilherme Silva Koiranen Motorsport +2.228
4 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing +2.588
5 Mathhieu Vaxiviere Tech 1 Racing +6.618
6 William Vermont ARTA Engineering +10.413
7 Dario Capitanio BVM Racing +11.821
8 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing +12.419
9 Kevin Gilardoni GSK Grand Prix +14.187
10 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport +14.375
11 Alberto Di Folco Team Torino Motorsport +21.254
12 Josh Raneri Team Torino Motorsport +28.598
13 Francisco Mora Interwetten.com Racing +29.671
14 Dzhon Simonyan GSK Grand Prix +34.592
15 Andrew Tang Jenzer Motorsport +34.735
16 Konstantin Tereschenko Interwetten.com Racing +34.928
17 Luke Chudleigh Tech 1 Racing +35.567
18 Alex Bosak SMP Racing by Koiranen +38.804
19 Nikita Zlobin SMP Racing by Koiranen +41.225
20 Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing +42.689
21 Javier Amado Euronova Racing +42.990
22 Daniele Cazzaniga Viola Formula Racing +49.513
23 Pietro Peccenini TS Corse +51.043
24 Gregor Ramsay Euronova Racing +2 laps
25 Ivan Taranov Tech 1 Racing +3 laps
26 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +3 laps
Not classified
Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam 6 laps
Semen Evstigneev SMP Racing by Koiranen 6 laps
Nyck De Vries Koiranen Motorsport 5 laps
Hans Villemi SMP Racing by Koiranen 2 laps
Parth Ghorpade BVM Racing 1 lap
Max Schaumburg-Lippe Jenzer Motorsport 0 laps
Denis Korneev Jenzer Motorsport 0 laps
Simon Tirman ARTA Engineering 0 laps
Joffrey De Narda ARTA Engineering 0 laps
Simon Gachet ARTA Engineering 0 laps